Forming the Committee

The Yellingbo Conservation Area Coordinating Committee (YCACC) was established in December 2015 under Section 12 of the Conservation, Forests and Lands Act 1987.

This extends the potential scope of the committee to land management and biodiversity programs on private land, in addition to its role relating to the Yellingbo Conservation Area.

YCACC is comprised of:

  • A Convenor;
    Appointed by the Minister’s Office to act as an independent chair.
  • A Secretariat;
    Appointed by DELWP
  • 4 Community Representatives:
    3 nominated by Yarra Ranges Council and 1 by Cardinia Shire Council
  • 8 Agency Representatives from:
    Parks Victoria, Melbourne Water, Yarra Ranges Council, Cardinia Shire Council, Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (DELWP), Zoos Victoria, Port Phillip and Westernport Catchment Management Authority and Trust for Nature.

Community Representative Appointment Process

The process of appointing community representatives was led by Yarra Ranges Council and Cardinia Shire Council and included advertising for the positions on their respective websites and in the local papers and conducting interviews of prospective members.

The Councils made recommendations to the Ministers office and following pre-appointment checks the selected council members were made by the Minister, under the Appointments and Remuneration Guidelines.